What to Know Before Donating to A Charity in Wyoming?

Wyoming (/waɪˈoʊmɪŋ/) is a state in the Mountain West subregion of the Western United States. It borders Montana to the north and northwest, South Dakota and Nebraska to the east, Idaho to the west, Utah to the southwest, and Colorado to the south. With a population of 576,851 as of the 2020 United States Census, Wyoming is the least populous state, although it ranks tenth by area and has the second lowest population density after Alaska. The state capital and most populous city is Cheyenne, which had an estimated 2018 population of 63,957 residents. The western half of Wyoming is covered primarily by the Rocky Mountain ranges and ranges, while the eastern half of the state consists of high-altitude grasslands called "The Rocky Mountain" plateaus. It is drier and windier than the rest of the country and is divided into semi-arid and continental climates with higher temperature extremes. Nearly half of Wyoming's land is owned by the federal government and is generally protected for public use. The state ranks sixth in terms of land area and fifth in terms of the percentage of state land owned by the federal government. The federal territories include two national parks (Grand Teton and Yellowstone), two national recreation areas, two national monuments, several national forests, historic sites, nurseries and wildlife sanctuaries. Indigenous peoples have inhabited the area for thousands of years. Historic and current federally recognized tribes include the Arapaho, Crow, Lakota, and Shoshone. During European exploration, the Spanish Empire was the first to "claim" southern Wyoming. With the independence of Mexico, it became part of that republic. After its defeat in the Mexican-American War, Mexico ceded this area to the United States in 1848. Formerly used by settlers in the Wyoming Valley of Pennsylvania, it comes from the Lenape Munsee word xwé: wamənk, meaning "on the great river plain". The bills for the acceptance of the Wyoming Territory into the Union were introduced in December 1889 in the United States Senate and House of Representatives. On March 27, 1890, the House of Representatives passed the bill and President Benjamin Harrison signed the Wyoming state bill into law; Wyoming became the 44th state in the Union. Historically, European Americans have herded and herded livestock here, with shepherds and ranchers feuding over the land. Today, Wyoming's economy is largely based on tourism and the extraction of minerals such as coal, natural gas, petroleum and trona. Agricultural products include barley, hay, livestock, sugar beets, wheat and wool. It was the first state to entitle women to vote and hold elected office, and the first state to elect a woman to the position of governor. Because of this part of its history, its primary name is The Equality State and its official motto is Equal Rights. It has been a politically conservative state since the 1950s. The Republican presidential candidate has voted for the state in every election since 1968.

Please select your city in Wyoming below.